Lou Clark

Lou Clark Elected as President of the Association of Standardized Patient Educators

October 5, 2022

Executive Director of M Simulation Lou Clark, PhD, MFA, has been elected as President of the Association of Standardized Patient Educators (ASPE).

With this two year appointment, Clark will work with ASPE's Board of Directors to support the organization's mission of promoting best practices in the application of standardized patient (SP) methodology for education, assessment and research; fostering the dissemination of research and scholarship in the field of SP methodology; advancing the professional knowledge and skills of its members and affiliates; and transforming professional performance through the power of human interaction.

"I am excited and humbled to undertake this role and give back to this association which has given me so much. I have benefitted as a simulation professional from outstanding mentorship as an educator, researcher and leader through ASPE. A specific objective I have during my presidency is to expand member support by creating and implementing a formal mentorship program, so that we can sustain and develop the next generation of SP educators," said Clark.

ASPE members are an international multi-professional community committed to excellence in the application of human simulation and SP methodology.

In addition to her executive director of M Simulation role, Clark is an associate professor in the Division of Hospital Medicine, and assistant director of the Essentials of Clinical Medicine course in the University of Minnesota Medical School.

Other News

lgbt cartoon people
Lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) older adults face unique challenges in today’s healthcare ecosystem. Whether due to…
group of students at Itasca Ecohealth IPE Experience February 2023
A group of eight interprofessional learners took part in the third rendition of the Itasca Ecohealth IPE Experience.
health care team
Having a strong University-run health system benefits all of us—our learners, faculty, staff and community.